NECC All Conference Basketball Awards for Newbury Student Athletes

Men's Basketball Awards

from Nighthawk News article

ATTLEBORO, Mass. - Nighthawks junior Jeduan Langston (Roxbury, Mass.) has been elected to the New England Collegiate Conference All-Third Team in 2016-17, as announced by the NECC office this afternoon. It's Langston's first nomination to the NECC All-Conference Teams in his three year career at Newbury College.
Nighthawks senior Dan Horwitz (West Hartford, Conn.) also grabbed a spot on the NECC All-Conference Teams. His nomination to the All-Sportsmanship Team is the first All-NECC award of his career.
It was Becker College who cleaned up the major awards, winning Coach of the Year, Player of the Year, and Rookie of the Year in the NECC. 
Head coach Brian Gorman was selected as the Coach of the Year, by a vote of his peers, while Samuel Durodola and Antonio White Jr. earned NECC Player and Rookie of the year respectively.
Coach Brian Gorman won his fourth career NECC Coach of the Year award, leading the Hawks to their second conference championship and third NCAA appearence in 10 years. 
Durodola finished his junior campaign leading the conference with a field goal percentage of 60.1, rebounds with 180, and also landing second with 22 points per game in NECC play.
White Jr. averaged 11.1 points and 6.8 rebounds in his freshman campaign, while shooting 46 percent from the field. 
Defensive Player of the Year honors went to Conny Ihearahu from Elms College, while teammate Symon Smith earned first team honors. Ihearahu led the conference with 33 blocks this season and also finished third with 10.5 rebounds per game. Smith powered the Blazers offense as he led the league with 25.5 points per game in conference play.

Full List of All-Conference Award Winners

Coach of the Year: Brian Gorman, Becker
Player of the Year: Samuel Durodola, Becker
Defensive Player of the Year: Conny Ihearahu, Elms
Rookie of the Year: Antonio White Jr., Becker (Fr., G, Middletown, Conn.)

First Team
Kyle Credle, Becker (Sr., G, Queens, N.Y.)
Samuel Durodola, Becker (Jr., F, Rosedale, N.Y.)
Symon Smith, Elms (Sr., G, Oklahoma City, Okla.)
Rayshawn Taylor, Southern Vermont (Sr., G/F, Silver Spring, Md.)
Nicholas Fenton, Wheelock Sr., G, East Hartford, Conn.)

Second Team
Kareem Davis, Becker (So., G, Lowell, Mass.)
Xeo Golding, Lesley (So., F, Windermere, Fla.)
Devon Mayo, Lesley (Sr., G, Newport News, Va.)
Nate Goldsmith, Southern Vermont (Sr., G/F, Capitol Heights, Md.)
Anthony Williams, Wheelock (Sr., F, White Plains, N.Y.)

Third Team
Jeduan Langston, Newbury (Jr., G, Roxbury, Mass.)
Chris Leak Jr., Regis (Sr., F, New Haven, Conn.)
Mike Pierre, Southern Vermont (Jr., G, Melrose, N.Y.)

All-Sportsmanship Team
Dan Horwitz, Newbury (Sr., G, West Hartford, Conn.)
Jaiwon Martin, Regis (Sr., F, Coral Springs, Fla.)
Ervin Cook, Southern Vermont (Sr., G, Germantown, Md.)
Matt Eason, Wheelock (Sr., G, East Hartford, Conn.)

Women's Basketball Awards

from Nighthawk News article
ATTLEBORO, Mass. - Nighthawks junior Destiny Spears (Arnold, Md.) and sophomore Savannah Olsen (Battle Creek, Mich.) have been elected to the New England Collegiate Conference First Team, as announced by the NECC office this afternoon.
Spears, who eclipsed the 1,000 career point mark in just three seasons at Newbury College, earns her first election to the All-NECC First Team in her career. Spears finished the season in a three-way tie for first in scoring average at 18.5 PPG. Spears previously was elected to the All-NECC Third Team in 2015-16.
Olsen, who was a top-five player in both scoring average and rebound average, adds her first career All-NECC First Team nomination to her resume. In two seasons with the Nighthawks, Olsen has a Third-Team nomination in 2015-16, was named Rookie of the Year in 2015-16, and has amassed 800 career points in just 53 games.
Spears and Olsen are two of only six players to average a double-double average this season.
Spears and Olsen weren't the only two to be recognized by the conference office as sophomore Kristen Connors (Wilmington, Mass.) was elected to the All-NECC Sportsmanship Team; her first career nomination to the Sportsmanship Team.
Regis College headlines the NECC Women's Basketball All-Conference Awards as Brittany Stone and Amanda Hawkesworth receive Player and Defensive Player of the Year respectively.
Stone has been outstanding in her junior campaign, shooting 64.9 percent from the floor across the 18 NECC games. In that stance she has scored 18.7 points per game and collected 9.9 rebounds.
Sharing the offensive and defensive load with Stone, is senior teammate Amanda Hawkesworth. The reigning NECC Player of the Year made her presence known on the defensive end of the court as she averaged more then a charge per game throughout the season.
This years NECC Rookie of the Year accolades went to Becker's Cassidy Harrison, who has had an instant impact for he Hawks this season. In her rookie campaign, Harrison has averaged 15.5 points per game.
The Hawks have had a breakout season under the 2016 NECC Coach of the Year, David Bostick, as voted on by his peers. Bostick is in his third year as the head coach at Becker leading the team to the NECC Semifinals and an impressive seven more conference wins then a season ago.

Full List of All-Conference Awards

Coach of the Year: David Bostick, Becker
Player of the Year: Brittany Stone, Regis
Defensive Player of the Year: Amanda Hawkesworth, Regis
Rookie of the Year: Cassidy Harrison, Becker

First Team
Savannah Olsen, Newbury (So., F, Battle Creek, Mich.)
Destiny Spears, Newbury (Jr., F, Arnold, Md.)
Amanda Hawkesworth, Regis (Sr., F, Abington, Mass.)
Brittany Stone, Regis (Jr., West Bridgewater, Mass.)
Michelle Woods, Wheelock (Sr., Wilmington, Mass.)

Second Team
Dallas Jackson, Bay Path (Sr., F, Springfield, Mass.)
Kayla Free, Daniel Webster (Sr., G, Quincy, Mass.)
Mackenzie LaRochelle, Elms (Jr., G, Chicopee, Mass.)
Alexandra Marques, Elms (Sr., F, Newington, Conn.)
Brianna Hochwarter, Wheelock (Sr., Attleboro, Mass.)

Third Team
Adrianna Dowdy, Becker (So., F, East Haven, Conn.)
Cassidy Harrison, Becker (Fr., G, Foxborough, Mass.)
Emily Burr, Elms (Sr., G, East Hartford, Conn.)
Jessica Shepherd, Mitchell (Sr., G, West Hartford, Conn.)
Katie Walsh, Wheelock (So., F, East Islip, N.Y.)

All Sportsmanship Team
Kristen Connors, Newbury (So., G, Wilmington, Mass.)
Maura Russell, Regis (So., G, Braintree, Mass.)
Kayla Emmi, Southern Vermont (So., G, Syracuse, N.Y.)
Emily Doyle, Wheelock (Sr., Lynn, Mass.)

Portions of this release courtesy of the NECC 
Photo Credit: Dylan Foran from original article


About Newbury: Newbury College is a private, independent college located just minutes from Boston in the Fisher Hill neighborhood of Brookline, Massachusetts. Founded in 1962, Newbury College offers bachelor and associate degree programs in over 20 career-focused majors. Committed to personalized and experience-based teaching, Newbury inspires students to become independent thinkers, valuable collaborators, and global-minded citizens.

Contact: Sarah Johansson, Communications Coordinator

Newbury men's and women's basketball student-athletes receive NECC All-Conference Awards.